FOUNDING GARDENERS. THE REVOLUTIONARY GENERATION, NATURE, AND THE SHAPING OF THE AMERICAN NATION. ANDREA WULF. Libro en papel. 9780307390684 LIBRERIA 9 3/4
FOUNDING GARDENERS

FOUNDING GARDENERS

THE REVOLUTIONARY GENERATION, NATURE, AND THE SHAPING OF THE AMERICAN NATION

ANDREA WULF

$ 85,300.00
IVA incluido
agotado
Editorial:
KNOPF (RANDOM HOUSE GROUP)
Materia
Fiction - non fiction
ISBN:
978-0-307-39068-4
Páginas:
368

u003cpu003eu003cbu003eFrom the bestselling author of u003ciu003eThe Invention of Natureu003c/iu003e, a fascinating look at the Founding Fathers like none you've seen before.u003c/bu003eu003cbru003e u003cbru003e For the Founding Fathers, gardening, agriculture, and botany were elemental passions: a conjoined interest as deeply ingrained in their characters as the battle for liberty and a belief in the greatness of their new nation.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e u003ciu003eFounding Gardenersu003c/iu003e is an exploration of that obsession, telling the story of the revolutionary generation from the unique perspective of their lives as gardeners, plant hobbyists, and farmers. Acclaimed historian Andrea Wulf describes how George Washington wrote letters to his estate manager even as British warships gathered off Staten Isl? how a tour of English gardens renewed Thomas Jefferson's and John Adams's faith in their fledgling nation; and why James Madison is the forgotten father of environmentalism. Through these and other stories, Wulf reveals a fresh, nuanced portrait of the men who created our nation.u003c/pu003e

Artículos relacionados

  • MARGUERITES CHRISTMAS
    INDIA DESJARDINS - PASCAL BLANCHET
    An old woman will no longer leave her house, not even on Christmas. She prefers to stay home, rather than take the risk of falling or coming down with a cold. She settles into the solitude and isolation of her safe, interior world. But just as she's about to enjoy a peaceful dinner in front of the TV, her doorbell rings . . . This is a touching story about overcoming fear a...
    En Stock

    $ 85,500.00

  • A CONSPIRACY OF KINGS
    MEGAN WHALEN TURNER
    u003cpu003eDiscover the world of the Queen’s Thiefu003c/pu003eu003cpu003eNew York Times-bestselling author Megan Whalen Turner’s entrancing and award-winning Queen’s Thief novels bring to life the world of the epics and feature one of the most charismatic and incorrigible characters of fiction, Eugenides the thief. Megan Whalen Turner’s Queen’s Thief novels are rich with p...
    En Stock

    $ 45,000.00

  • DOROTHY MUST DIE : YELLOW BRICK WAR
    DANIELLE PAIGE
    In this action-packed third book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, new girl from Kansas Amy Gumm is caught between her home—and Oz. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Gregory Maguire’s Wicked, Danielle Paige delivers a dark, high-octane reimagining of L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wi...
    En stock

    $ 44,000.00

  • THE REMAINS OF THE DAY
    KAZUO ISHIGURO
    Here is Kazuo Ishiguro's profoundly compelling portrait of Stevens, the perfect butler, and of his fading, insular world in post-World War II England. Stevens, at the end of three decades of service at Darlington Hall, spending a day on a country drive, embarks as well on a journey through the past in an effort to reassure himself that he has served humanity by serving the "gre...
    En Stock

    $ 56,000.00

  • THE NAMESAKE:
    JHUMPA LAHIRI
    Jhumpa Lahiri's Interpreter of Maladies established this young writer as one the most brilliant of her generation. Her stories are one of the very few debut works -- and only a handful of collections -- to have won the Pulitzer Prize for fiction. Among the many other awards and honors it received were the New Yorker Debut of the Year award, the PEN/Hemingway Award, and the high...
    En Stock

    $ 82,000.00

  • JOY AT WORK
    MARIE KONDO / SCOTT SONENSHEIN
    Declutter your desk and brighten up your business with this transformative guide from an organizational psychologist and the #1 New York Times bestselling author of The Life-Changing Magic of Tidying Up.The workplace is a magnet for clutter and mess. Who hasn't felt drained by wasteful meetings, disorganized papers, endless emails, and unnecessary tasks? These are the modern-da...
    En stock

    $ 87,000.00

Otros libros del autor

  • LA INVENCION DE LA NATURALEZA
    ANDREA WULF
    La invención de la naturaleza revela la extraordinaria vida del visionario naturalista alemán Alexander von Humboldt (1769-1859) y cómo creó una nueva forma de entender la naturaleza.Humboldt fue un intrépido explorador y el científico más famoso de su época. Su agitada vida estuvo repleta de aventuras y descubrimientos: escaló los volcanes más altos del mundo, remó ...
    En stock

    $ 67,000.00

  • EN BUSCA DE VENUS
    ANDREA WULF
    El emocionante relato de la primera colaboración científica internacional, por la autora de La invención de la naturaleza.Cómo los científicos ilustrados se unieron para medir las profundidades del universo.Durante dos días en 1761 y 1769, cientos de científicos de países europeos y de las colonias norteamericanas apuntaron sus telescopios hacia el cielo para observar u...
    agotado

    $ 62,000.00