FIRST MAN. THE LIFE OF NEIL A. ARMSTRONG. JAMES R. HANSEN. Libro en papel. 9781982110475 LIBRERIA 9 3/4
FIRST MAN

FIRST MAN

THE LIFE OF NEIL A. ARMSTRONG

JAMES R. HANSEN

$ 46,000.00
IVA incluido
agotado
Editorial:
POCKET BOOKS
Año de edición:
2018
Materia
Fiction - non fiction
ISBN:
978-1-9821-1047-5
Páginas:
672

u003cbu003eSoon to be a major motion picture, this is the first—and only—definitive authorized account of Neil Armstrong, the man whose “one small step” changed history.u003c/bu003eu003cbru003eu003cbru003eWhen Apollo 11 touched down on the Moon’s surface in 1969, the first man on the Moon became a legend. In u003ciu003eFirst Manu003c/iu003e, author James R. Hansen explores the life of Neil Armstrong. Based on over fifty hours of interviews with the intensely private Armstrong, who also gave Hansen exclusive access to private documents and family sources, this “magnificent panorama of the second half of the American twentieth century” (u003ciu003ePublishers Weeklyu003c/iu003e, starred review) is an unparalleled biography of an American icon.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e In this “compelling and nuanced portrait” (u003ciu003eChicago Tribuneu003c/iu003e) filled with revelations, Hansen vividly recreates Armstrong’s career in flying, from his seventy-eight combat missions as a naval aviator flying over North Korea to his formative trans-atmospheric flights in the rocket-powered X-15 to his piloting Gemini VIII to the first-ever docking in space. For a pilot who cared more about flying to the Moon than he did about walking on it, Hansen asserts, Armstrong’s storied vocation exacted a dear personal toll, paid in kind by his wife and children. For the near-fifty years since the Moon landing, rumors have swirled around Armstrong concerning his dreams of space travel, his religious beliefs, and his private life.u003cbru003e u003cbru003e A penetrating exploration of American hero worship, Hansen addresses the complex legacy of the First Man, as an astronaut and as an individual. “u003ciu003eFirst Manu003c/iu003e burrows deep into Armstrong’s past and present…What emerges is an earnest and brave man” (u003ciu003eHouston Chronicleu003c/iu003e) who will forever be known as history’s most famous space traveler.

Artículos relacionados

  • DOROTHY MUST DIE : YELLOW BRICK WAR
    DANIELLE PAIGE
    In this action-packed third book in the New York Times bestselling Dorothy Must Die series, new girl from Kansas Amy Gumm is caught between her home—and Oz. Perfect for fans of Marissa Meyer’s Lunar Chronicles and Gregory Maguire’s Wicked, Danielle Paige delivers a dark, high-octane reimagining of L. Frank Baum’s The Wonderful Wi...
    En stock

    $ 47,000.00

  • STRANGER TO THE MOON
    EVELIO ROSERO
    The renowned Colombian writer Evelio Rosero has never been one to shy away from the darker aspects of his nation’s history and society. His magnificent novel Stranger to the Moon portrays a world that seems to exist outside time and place but taps into the dark myths and collective subconscious of his country, with its harrowing inequality and violence. A parable of pointed so...
    En Stock

    $ 88,000.00

  • HOW IS MONA LISA FEELING
    JULIE MERBERG, SUZANNE BOBER
    Fine art meets basic concepts in board books by the bestselling authors of Mini Masters Ten famous portraits by world renowned artists teach the littlest art lovers about feelings. Beautiful artwork from a "playful" Winslow Homer to a "mad" Paul Gauguin to daVinci's very "mysterious" Mona Lisa will engage babies and their parents alike! ...
    En Stock

    $ 21,000.00

  • QUEER
    WILLIAM S. BURROUGHS
    The definitive 25th-anniversay edition of Burroughs's legendary second novel.  Originally written in 1952 but not published till 1985, Queer is an enigma-both an unflinching autobiographical self-portrait and a coruscatingly political novel, Burroughs' only realist love story and a montage of comic-grotesque fantasies that paved the way for his masterp...
    En Stock

    $ 57,600.00

  • DISTURBANCE
    JENNA CLAKE
    A spellbinding, genre-bending debut that follows a woman’s attempt to heal from an abusive relationship-with the help of black magic.As the sun sets on a feverishly hot July evening, a young woman spies on her teenage neighbor, transfixed by what looks like an occult ritual intended to banish an ex-boyfriend. Alone in a new town and desperate to expel the claustrophobic memori...
    En Stock

    $ 106,000.00

  • THE BEST AMERICAN SHORT STORIES 2019
    ANTHONY DOERR
    #1 New York Times best-selling, Pulitzer Prize-winning author Anthony Doerr brings his“stunning sense of physical detail and gorgeous metaphors” (San Francisco Chronicle) to selecting The Best American Short Stories 2019.“As soon as you complete a description of what a good story must be, a new example flutters through an open window, lands on your sleeve, and proves your de...
    En Stock

    $ 82,000.00