AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 TREES. JONATHAN DRORI / IL. LUCILLE CLERC. Libro en papel. 9781786276063 LIBRERIA 9 3/4
AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 TREES

AROUND THE WORLD IN 80 TREES

JONATHAN DRORI / IL. LUCILLE CLERC

$ 80,000.00
IVA incluido
En Stock
Editorial:
CHRONICLE BOOKS
Año de edición:
2020
Materia
Fiction - non fiction
ISBN:
978-1-78627-606-3
Páginas:
240

Bestselling author and environmentalist Jonathan Drori follows in the footsteps of Phileas Fogg as he tells the stories of 80 magnificent trees from all over the globe.

In Around the World in 80 Trees, Jonathan Drori uses plant science to illuminate how trees play a role in every part of human life, from the romantic to the regrettable. From the trees of Britain, to India's sacred banyan tree, they offer us sanctuary and inspiration - not to mention the raw materials for everything from aspirin to maple syrup.

Stops on the trip include the lime trees of Berlin's Unter den Linden boulevard, which intoxicate amorous Germans and hungry bees alike, the swankiest streets in nineteenth-century London, which were paved with Australian eucalyptus wood, and the redwood forests of California, where the secret to the trees' soaring heights can be found in the properties of the tiniest drops of water.

Each of these strange and true tales – populated by self-mummifying monks, tree-climbing goats and ever-so-slightly radioactive nuts – is illustrated by Lucille Clerc, taking the reader on a journey that is as informative as it is beautiful. The book combines history, science and a wealth of quirky detail – there should be surprises for everyone.

Perfect for fans of Peter Wohlleben's The Hidden Life of Trees, this new book will certainly whet the appetite of any tree lover to take an around-the-world trip, or simply visit your local botanic garden. The perfect travel guide for nature enthusiasts.

Winner at the Woodland Books of the Year Awards 2018.

Artículos relacionados

  • DO STORY
    BOBETTE BUSTER
    Do Books provide readers with the tools and inspiration to live a fulfilled and engaged life. Whether it's mastering a new skill, cultivating a positive mindset, or finding inspiration for a new project, these books dispense expert wisdom on subjects related to personal growth, business, and slow living. Written by the movers, shakers, and change makers who have participated in...
    En stock

    $ 68,000.00

  • A WOMAN LOOKING AT MEN LOOKING AT WOMEN
    SIRI HUSTVEDT
    In a Trilogy of Works brought together in a single volume, Siri Hustvedt demonstrates the striking range and depth of her knowledge in both the humanities and the sciences. Armed with passionate curiosity, a sense of humor, and insights from many disciplines, she repeatedly upends received ideas and cultural truisms. "A Woman Looking at Men Looking at Women" examines particular...
    En stock

    $ 90,000.00

  • CHRISTMAS DAYS: 12 STORIES AND 12 FEASTS FOR 12 DAYS
    JEANETTE WINTERSON
    A New York Times Book Review 100 Notable Books of 2017 "Nowhere is [Winterson's] faith in the transporting power of storytelling more on display than in her new book, Christmas Days . . . dark, otherworldly and (trademark Winterson) wickedly funny . . . [a] holiday treasure . . . to be pulled out on a December night, fireside, and read aloud." --New York Times Book Review "If y...
    En stock

    $ 80,000.00

  • SURVIVORS 2: A HIDDEN ENEMY
    ERIN HUNTER
    u003cpu003eFrom Erin Hunter, #1 nationally bestselling author of Warriors, comes the New York Times bestselling second book in the Survivors series. Praised by Kirkus Reviews as “perfectly crafted” in a starred review, A Hidden Enemy is an action-packed adventure that will thrill fans of Spirit Animals and Wings of Fire.u003c/pu003eu003cpu003eAfter discovering a forest fill...
    En Stock

    $ 76,500.00

  • JUST WHEN YOU RE COMFORTABLE IN YOUR OWN SKIN, IT STARTS TO SAG
    AMY NOBILE / TRISHA ASHWORTH
    With the voice of a close friend, this clever and witty guide from bestselling duo Trisha Ashworth and Amy Nobile takes women through the new and sometimes challenging midlife phase, with chapters including: - Redefining what beauty means after age 40… and that there is beauty after age 40! - How to care for yourself when you’re also caring for growing children...
    En stock

    $ 73,000.00

  • ALICES ADVENTURES IN WONDERLAND
    LEWIS CARROLL
    En Stock

    $ 12,000.00